Spruill Gallery 

Current Exhibit:

GREENSIDE, an exhibition of photographs from Atlanta artist, Rob White

September 27 – October 27, 2018 at the Spruill Gallery

Artist Talk & Closing Reception: October 27, 1:30pm


Greenside is the term used when a Navy sailor receives orders to serve within a Marine Corps unit. White’s debut exhibition tells the story of his experience as a Religious Program Specialist, providing personal security and logistical support for a Navy Chaplin while deployed in Marjah, Afghanistan in 2010.

Through black and white and color stills, White’s images weave a tapestry of military life from the perspective of someone in a support role. From the humanitarian missions of fellow Navy Corpsmen and religious ceremony to the daily life of Marines, White captures aspects of deployment often unseen creating a visual account of his time and experience in war.

Rob White halted his fine art photography to join the Navy where he served two tours in Afghanistan between 2010 and 2012. Prior to his first deployment, he purchased a small Nikon camera and attached it to his armor via a makeshift strap. “I left school and joined the Navy, but I never stopped being a student,” White remembers. “It felt important to take photographs, like maybe there was an insight to offer”. After leaving the Navy, White resumed school and finished with a BFA in photography from the Art Institute of Atlanta. He resides in Alpharetta and works as a commercial photographer.
Learn more about the artist: robwhiteimages.com